LottaBody Texturizing Setting Lotion Review

August 10, 2010

Name: LottaBody Texturizing Setting Lotion

Price: $2.99 ($2.49 at Walmart)

Rating: 5 out of 5

Product Promise: Use LottaBody on natural, relaxed or color-treated hair for super hold, beautiful body and unbelievable sheen.

The Review: This is by far the best hair product I’ve tried this year. I picked this up on a whim at Walmart for $2.49 and it was the 50% Bonus bottle. First, I have never been a fan of wrap/setting lotions. Every time I used a setting lotion my hair would come out feeling crunchy and dry, and I would end up with a ton of white flakes. Lotta Body met every promise that was stated on the bottle. Super Hold. Check! Beautiful Body. Check! Unbelievable Sheen. Check x 2!

I used it on my first flexi rod set… placed it in a spray bottle and diluted it 1 part water w/ one part LottaBody. And keep in mind that I have not had a relaxer in almost 2 years. My hairstyle came out perfect… beautiful soft curls with soooo much shine and lasted an entire week in record-breaking humid weather. I seriously can’t get enough of this stuff. And for $2.39 it’s a new staple!
The only issue I have is that you need a separate spray bottle to apply since the consistency is liquid. I imagine that it will turn into a messy application if you attempt to use it straight out of the original bottle packaging.

Note: You can also purchase a concentrated version at your local beauty supply store.

Ingredients: Water, Polyquarternium-11, PEG-40 Lanolin, Polysorbate 20, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Red 33




{ 7 comments… read them below or add one }

Lexxi August 10, 2010 at 11:14 am

My hairdresser introduced me to LottaBody – the blue bottle – and it’s the only product I use for my rollersets now.

Nina August 26, 2010 at 8:52 am

Hello everyone at HairMilk. I agree. I am a hair stylist in Flint Michigan. I have used Lottabody for years. After I do relaxers I use Lottabody on the rollerset and even on natural hair rollersets. The style sets nicely and my clients love the added bounce.

Ann September 8, 2010 at 10:38 pm

I’m trying to avoid chemicals and this product lists three that are troublesome. Any thoughts on that?

CHE Salon September 14, 2010 at 10:33 pm

I also purchased this product at a drug store here in Chicago, and have to say it worked really well on my hair. Normally, I have super dry, brittle hair and this stuff seemed to work well. Plus you can’t beat the price! Thanks for posting this review.

Tine May 15, 2011 at 2:19 pm

I love how lottabody makes my hair look, but my hair sheds tremendously when I use it. This tells me that it’s too strong and the chemicals are too damaging for my body which is why it’s rejecting it. I think overall it’s like perms. It can look pretty but while it eats your scalp alive.

Skotti September 22, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Lottabody is old skool. Been around since the begining of time. @Tine if lottabody is making your hair fall you need to dilute it. It is basically glue, and if you use too much it can make your hair hard and dry. I personally cut my lottabody with leave in conditoner, instead of water. I have used Infusium 23, and Aussie Hair insurance. Soon I am going to try aloe vera juice. (I use the concentrate, but I would cut the regular strength too, just cause.)

Lisa November 27, 2012 at 5:06 pm

I’ve used lottabody for braid outs and roller sets. I am pretty satisfied with it but it does not give me enough body I want for my hair. I have to say that it is a staple product for me. I’m just looking for something that will add body.

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: